The united states is set to deport about 800 Sierra Leone nationals as against the earlier reports that only 27 citizens has been denied VISA.

Recall that Sierra Leone’s foreign ministry spokesman, Emmanuel Turay had said that the government has agreed to the deportation of 27 of its citizens from the US.

This, on the day Washington stopped issuing visas to Sierra Leone foreign ministry & immigration officials travelling for business or pleasure, which followed the refusal by Freetown to take back the 27 felons.

However, a report by U.S website, Politico has shown that the deportees are actually 800 in number.

The story as published on reads:

DHS suspends some visas for four countries

When the government orders someone deported from the U.S., that deportation doesn’t just happen automatically. It requires approval from the receiving country; the U.S. generally can’t just leave people in other countries. Most countries routinely approve such removal orders, but about a dozen countries are uncooperative, preventing the U.S. from actually deporting those individuals.

On Wednesday, the Trump administration took its first step to force greater cooperation when it imposed visa sanctions on four especially recalcitrant countries—Cambodia, Eritrea, Guinea and Sierra Leone. “These four countries have not established reliable processes for issuing travel documents to their nationals ordered removed from the United States,” the Department of Homeland Security said. According to DHS numbers, the government has been unable to remove around 700 Eritrean, 1,900 Cambodian, 2,100 Guinean and 800 Sierra Leone nationals. The sanctions vary for each country. For instance, senior Cambodian diplomatic officials and their families will be unable to get a B visa, which allows temporary entry into the U.S. for business or pleasure. In Eritrea, no one can get a B visa.

The move is just the latest front of Trump’s immigration crackdown, and follows on his January executive order in which he directed DHS and the State Department to enter negotiations with such “recalcitrant countries”—and, if those negotiations fail, enforce sanctions.”