Sierra Leoneans will no longer need prior permission to travel to South Africa, officials announced on Thursday.


Last year, at the height of the Ebola epidemic, amidst fears of transmission through international travel, a number of countries restricted movement into their territories for citizens of the three hardest hit countries – Guinea, Liberia and Sierra Leone.

The statement announcing the reversal of this restriction was issued by the South African Consul in Freetown.