Sierra Leone is amongst nine African nations to have confirmed their participation in the inaugural Africa Deaf Games which is set for April 18-26 in Nairobi, Kenya.

Sierra Leone, Mali, Swaziland, Liberia, Gambia, Cameroon, Libya, Zambia and Kenya are the nine nations to have confirmed their participation in the Games ahead of the stipulated deadline date, which is March 18.

According to the Local Organizing Committee, Kasarani will be the main games’ venue and efforts are still underway to secure the Nyayo Stadium and a private institutional facility around the Moi Sports Centre, Kasarani.

Athletes will have to compete in seven different disciplines in the games, which include football, futsal (five-aside football), volleyball, basketball, table tennis, badminton, handball and athletics.

In related development, there will also be a congress during the Games where a new executive committee is expected to be voted in. Already, Kenya’s Washington Akaranga has declared his intention to vie for the presidency of the Confederation of Africa Deaf Sports.