Newly appointed ministers, deputy ministers and the Commissioner of the Anti-Corruption Commission (ACC) Thursday 7 April subscribed to the oath of office at State House following their parliamentary approval.


The chairman of the ceremony Cabinet Secretary and Head of Civil, Dr Ernest Surur quoted Section 57 of the Constitution of Sierra Leone, which states that duly approved ministers by the House of Parliament will only enter their official functions after they had taken and subscribed to an oath administered by His Excellency the President as inscribed in the Third Schedule of the said 1991 Constitution of Sierra Leone.

Addressing the new ministers and ACC commissioner shortly after administering the oath of office, President Koroma reminded them that the ceremony has not only marked the end to the process, but also ushered in the beginning of their new assignment. He urged them to hit the ground running in order to live up to expectations of the people of Sierra Leone.

ALSO READ: PHOTOS: President Koroma Commissions SOCFIN Production Mill In Pujehun District

He said before Ebola struck, Sierra Leone was considered as the second fastest growing economy in the world and now that the epidemic was over “we should work hard to move forward as a nation”.

The president ended by congratulating the new ministers and wishing them the best in their new assignments.

Speaking on behalf of his colleagues, Mr Ahmed Khanou, newly appointed Minister of Sports profoundly thanked the president for considering them among millions of Sierra Leoneans, and promised that they would not misplace the trust reposed in them.