3rd February 2016

National Electoral Commission and Stakeholders form Electoral Boundaries Delimitation Committee for the Demarcation of Constituency and Ward Boundaries in 2016

The National Electoral Commission in collaboration with stakeholder institutions on Tuesday 2nd February 2016, formed the Electoral Boundaries Delimitation Committee (EBDC) for the demarcation of Constituency and Ward Boundaries in preparation for the February 2018 conduct of the Local Government, Parliamentary and Presidential Elections in Sierra Leone.

Representatives from the House of Parliament, All Political Parties Association (APPA) Democratic Institutions, National Elections Watch (NEW), Academic Institutions and National and International Civil Society Organisations attended the meeting.

The stakeholders during the meeting nominated Commissioner Georgette De Mark (National Commission for Democracy-NCD) as Chairperson and Rev. Alimamy P. Kargbo (Inter Religious Council) as Deputy Chairperson.

The EBDC approved the formation of District level Committees with Chairpersons and Deputies in all Fourteen (14) Electoral Districts nationwide; and agreed that the NEC stipulated Terms of Reference (TOR) for Boundary Delimitation Committee operations would be carried out in line with legal provisions and regulations; and the promotion of Stakeholders and Media engagement, in line with the NEC Communications Strategy.

The stakeholders also formed the EBDC Technical Committee with the following as members:

1. Mr Andrew Johnny-Statistics Sierra Leone (SSL)
2. Rev. James Lahai- National Elections Watch (NEW)
3. Dr. Jinnah S. Momoh-Fourah Bay College (FBC)
4. Mr. Alfred S. Bockarie-Njala University (NU)
5. Mr Philip F. Kargbo – National Electoral Commission (NEC)
6. Mr Mbekay S. Amara – National Electoral Commission (NEC)

The EBDC Technical Committee is expected to have its first meeting on Friday 5th February 2016 and the next EBDC National meeting is scheduled to take place on Friday 15th March 2016 at the NEC Head Office, OAU Dirive Tower Hill.

The Open Society Initiatives for West Africa(OSIWA) provided funds for the formation of the Electoral Boundaries Delimitation Committee.

©2016 Department of Media and External Relations National Electoral Commission -Sierra Leone