The Kids Advocacy Network, National Child Development Award Committee is pleased to introduce to the public the shortlisted nominees for the National Child Development Award.

Star award against gradient background

Star award against gradient background

Members of the Public will be giving the opportunity to vote for any of the nominees through our radio programs or through text message on 079787464/088295857.

School Going Children will also cast their vote in the various schools across the country.

Below are the Nominees for the award in their respective area.

Educational Category

(1) Primary School Pupil of the Year- Best N P S E candidate

(2) Junior Secondary School Pupil of the Year- Best B E C E Candidate

(3) Senior Secondary School Pupil of the Year- Best WASSCE Candidate

(4) Principal of the Year – Mr. Sylvester Meheux – Principal Government Rokel Junior Secondary School
– Mr. Frederick Wyse- Principal St Edwards Senior Secondary School
– Mr. Michael A Bundor- Principal Prince of Wales Senior Secondary School
– Principal St Francis Junior Secondary School Makeni
– Principal Christ the King College Bo

(5) School of the Year
– Sierra Leone Grammar School
– BO Government Senior Secondary School
– Annie Walsh Memorial Senior Secondary School
– St Francis Junior Secondary School- Makeni
– Holy Rosary Senior Secondary School- Kenema

Advocacy and Child Protection Category

(6) Mother of the Year
– Madam Haja Kallah Kamara
– Dr. Sarah Bendu
– H E Umu Hawa Tejan Jalloh
– Madam Haddijatu Jallow
– Mrs. Mariatu Bangura

(7) Father of the Year
– Mr. Oluniyi Robin Coker
– Mr Joseph Mans
– Dr. Adonis Abboud
– Hon. Alhaji Moijueh Emmanuel Kaikai

(8) Child Advocate of the Year
– Watta Koroma- President Kids Advocacy Network Pujehun District
– Mariam Samai- Children’s Forum Network
– Oullematu Bah- President Youth and Child
Advocacy Network Girls Empowerment Project
– Umu Sall- Presenter Voice of Children Project SLBC
– Sheku M Sillah- President Providence Kids Network

(9) Child Protection Agency of the Year
– Save the Children U K
– Plan S L
– Goal
– Street Child
– Don Bosco Fambul

(10) Philanthropist of the Year
– Dr. Adonis Abboud
– Mr. John B Sisay
– Mr. Mohamed Gento Kamara
– Mr. Moseray Fadika

(11) Philanthropist organization of the Year
– Mercury International
– Pikin Bizness

Private Sector Category

(12) Financial Institution of the Year
– Eco- Bank
– Guaranty Trust Bank
– Standard Charted Bank
– First International Bank
– Sierra Leone Commercial Bank

(13) Telecommunication Company of the Year
– Africell
– Sierratel
– Airtel

(14) Insurance Company of the Year
– National Insurance Company
– Ritcorp Insurance Company
– Aureol Insurance Company
– Staco Insurance Company

(15) Entrepreneur of the Year
– Norserca Enterprise
– Choithram Supermarket
– GETCo Services
– Marani Enterprise

Legal Category

(16) Legal Practitioner of the Year
– Lawer Suliaman Kabba Koroma
– Lawyer Julian Cole
– Lawyer Emmanuel Saffa Abdulai
– Magistrate Emmanuella Harding
– Magistrate Komba Kamanda

(17) Police Officer of the Year
– ASP Karrow Kamara
– ASP Memunatu Konteh Jalloh
(18) Military Officer of the Year
– No Nominees

Health Category
(19) Medical Practitioner of the Year
– Dr. Songu Mbriwah

Media Category

(20) Print Media House of the Year
– Standard Times Newspaper
– Politico Newspaper
– Concord Times Newspaper
– Africa Young Voices Newspaper
– Awoko Newpaper

(21) Electronic Media House of the Year
– Star Radio
– Radio Democracy
– Eastern Radio
– Culture Radio
– Citizen Radio

(22) Print Media Practitioner of the Year
– Victoria Saffa- Concord Times NewsPaper
– Thomas Dixton- Salone Times Newspaper
– Ayodele Deen Cole- Exclusive NewsPaper

(23) Electronic Media House of the Year
– Amadu Lamrana Bah- Star Radio
– Lucian Ganda- Sierra Leone Broadcasting Cooperation
– Mr. David Tam Mbayoh- Citizen Radio
– Theodora Renner- Radio Democracy
– Abdul Rahman Kamara- Star T V

(24) Sierra Leone Press Attache of the Year
– Mrs. Mariama Coker- Sierra Leone Press Attache to Liberia
– Mr. Chernor Ojuku Sesay- Sierra Leone Press Attache to Brussels
– Mr. John Baimba Sesay- Sierra Leone Press Attache to China
– Sorie Sudan Sesay- Sierra Leone Press Attache to U K
– Mr. Alusine M Fofanah- Sierra Leone Press Attache to Nigeria

Government Category

(25) Government Parastatal of the Year
– Sierra Leone Road Safety Authority
– Environmental Protection Agency
– Sierra Leone Road Transport Cooperation
– National Revenue Authority
– Sierra Leone Roads Authority

(26) Local Council of the Year
– Bo city Council
– Kenema City Council
– Makeni City Council
– Pujehun District Council
– Tonkolili District Council

(27) Parliamentarian of the Year
– Hon. Claud Kamanda
– Hon. Emma Kowa
– Hon. Dr.Bernadette Lahai
– Hon. Kombor Kamara
– Hon. Isata Kabia

(28) Foreign Ambassador of the Year
– United State of America Ambassador to Sierra Leone
– People’s Republic of China Ambassador to Sierra Leone
– Nigeria High Commissioner to Sierra Leone
– British High Commissioner to Sierra Leone

(29) Sierra Leone Ambassador of the Year
– H E John Yambasu- Sierra Leone Ambassador to Russia
– H E Eddie Turay- Sierra Leone High Commissioner to U K
– H E Brima Acha Kamara- Sierra Leone Ambassador to Liberia
– H E Bockarie Steven- Sierra Leone Ambassador to U S A
– H E Ibrahim Sorie- Sierra Leone Ambassador to Brussels

(30) Minister of the Year
– Hon. Finda Diana Konomanyi- Minister of Local Government and Rural Development
– Hon. Kaifala Marah- Minister of Finance and Economic Development
– Hon. Momodu Maligie- Minister of Water Resources
– Hon. Leonard Balogun Koroma- Minister of Transport and Aviation
– Hon. Henry O Macauley- Minister of Energy Entertainment

(31) Artist of the Year Male
– Nasser Ayoub
– Abdul Razak Kanu- Ark Man
– Moris
– Steady Bongo

(32) Artist of the Year Female
– Star Zero
– Fantacee
– Rosezee

15 Awards for Excellence Service to the Children of Sierra Leone
– Mr. Mohamed Bangura- Cooperate Affairs Manager N R A
– Madam Haddijatu Jallow- Executive Chairperson E P A
– Save the Children U K
– One Family People
– National Commission for Children
– Haja Kallah Kamara- Commissioner General N R A
– Dr. Sarah Bendu- C E O SLRSA
– Dr. Sylvia O Blyden- Publisher Awareness Times Newspaper
– Chernor Musa Bounaya- Founder Federation of Patriotic Youth and Child Advocacy Network
– Patrick Sumana- Finance Manager- KAN
– Mr. Abdul Yassim Kargbo- General Manager National Tourist Board
– Mr. Albert Harvey- Finance Manager NTB
– Mr. Jabez B Rogers Wright- C E O Cribez Business Agency
– Augusta Nuwomah- KAN Regional Coordinator South
– Watta Koroma- KAN President Pujehun District
– Khadija L Sesay- National Schools Coordinator K A N
– Theresa L Mbomaya- President Coalition of Young Intelligent Quotient
– Alhaji S Conteh- KAN President Apex International School
– Precious Willams- I T Manager K A N
– Chernor J Bah- Communications Manager K A N

Special Recognition Award

Special Recognition for Promoting Girl Child Education – Madam Nasu Fofanah
Special Recognition for sport development – Hon. Paul Kamara

15 Special Recognition for the Fight Against Ebola – H E Dr. Ernest Bai Koroma- President of the Republic of Sierra Leone

– Hon, Retired Major Alfred Palo Conteh
– Mr. Sidie Yaya Tunis- Communications Manager MOHS
– Dr. Kandeh Kolleh Yumkella
– Social Workers Sierra Leone
– World Bank Group
– Hon. Karamoh Kabba
– Sierra Leone Association of Journalists
– Ministry of Social Welfare, Gender and
Children?s Affairs
– Sierra Leone Police
– Mr. Momoh Konteh
– Hon. Alpha Kanu
– Hon. Claude Kamanda
– Hon. Finda Diana Konomanyi
– Don Bosco Fambul
– Save the Children